As a math teacher, I hear countless times from students, parents, colleagues, random people who find out that I am a math teacher, “I don't get math!" "I am not good at math!" "I hate math!" I never truly
understood the depth of what these individuals were saying. Math is black and white, right or wrong, finite rules to always follow, that, unlike language
arts, there are NO exceptions to the rules.  I never understood when students would decline writing on the board in my room but hear my colleagues talk about how they are not able to get everyone that wants to go to the board that ability.  If anyone is to ask me, my classroom is safe environment where we learn from everyone’s mistakes, yes, even mine, again I still do not understand why students are intimidated in my room until…I contemplated applying for the EKU writing project. Writing is my “math class”.  I am not clear, at all, on the rules of grammar, my mind constantly jumps from topic to topic and nothing is ever organized on paper if, I even have something to write about. After the interview process, pre-summer institute work, and the first two days of the summer institute, my heart still races if I think that I will be called on or even worse, being asked to read my work. My head wonders with thought such as, what if my work is the great example of what not to do, should I have this many questions, and the famous, I just don’t get this. 
But I CAN and I WILL do this, writing will not be my “math class”.

Gill
6/4/2013 08:13:04 am

Reply
Gill
6/4/2013 08:15:45 am

Jessica, thank you so much for sharing this. I love the thinking and really appreciate your willingness to share these thoughts. Other people - other math teachers - need to read this and feel what you're feeling.

Reply
Tiffany
6/4/2013 08:27:05 am

Jessica, I really loved this when you read it today. You may not realize it, but you are a gifted writer. Thanks for sharing it with us.

Reply
Katrina
6/5/2013 04:03:11 am

Thanks for letting me "proof" this before you shared it. You really are a very talented writer, eventhough you think differently. Keep the the ink flowing!

Reply
Caitlin
6/5/2013 04:06:30 am

Thanks for sharing this with us. You made a great connection between people's fears of math and writing. I had never thought of it that way before! I bet you hear lots of moans and groans all the time when people hear you are a math teacher!

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Write something about yourself. No need to be fancy, just an overview.

    Archives

    June 2013

    Categories

    All